Understanding The Different Levels of Reiki

If you are looking to become a Reiki practitioner or are looking to work with one, then it might be wise to get some understanding about the different levels of Reiki.

There are 3 levels of Reiki taking you from basic to master level. Each grade is based on the attunement or empowerment process you will achieve.

Through the attunement process, the recipient receives a very intense healing, and this opens up their energy channels so that they can access the Universal Life Force in order to heal and balance a person, place, or situation.

Here is a simple guide to explain each of the 3 levels of Reiki:

Level 1 – Also called the 1st Degree or Shoden in Japanese

This is the entry level of Reiki which is open to anyone. Typically a student learns about the history of Reiki and can learn how to perform Reiki on family and friends. The focus is on opening the energy channels which enables a practitioner to connect to the life force energy of Reiki.

Level 2 – Also called the 2nd Degree or Okuden in Japanese

In this level students receive the first of the Reiki symbols, enabling them to connect more deeply to the energy. The focus of Level 2 is on practicing Reiki on others.

During this level a student would also start practising distance healing. This is the ability to send healing energy to individuals in a different location. Following the completion of this level, a student would be considered as a Reiki Practitioner.

Level 3 – Also called the 3rd Degree or Shinpiden in Japanese

This is the final, Master level of Reiki. It is believed that completion of this level requires a great deal of focus and commitment. Therefore it is often recommended that some time pass between completion of level 2 and starting level 3.

It is advised that this might be anywhere from 3 weeks to 3 months. During this final level, a student would learn the final ‘Master’ symbols of Reiki and their energy levels would become enhanced.

Sometimes this final level of the attunement process is separated from the Master Teacher level to indicate the significance of completing the process from being able to teach the practice to others. And so, you may often find a fourth, Master Teacher Level included.

This is the basic structure of the three levels of Reiki. However, it is important to note that each Reiki instructor may teach in their own specific format and you might find some differences in the way that training is delivered.

Do some research and then you will find the right course and instructor for you to gain your Reiki certification.

At Protectivity, we provide a wide range of what we believe are cost-effective insurance solutions for therapy professionals including Reiki Insurance, Counselling Insurance, Massage Insurance and many more. To see if your speciality can be covered, just visit our Therapy Insurance page and input your technique into the quote box. If we can cover the activity, we will provide you with an instant price.


Related Blogs

Guide to Therapy Courses

Your Guide To Therapy Courses

If you're a practising therapist it's important to stay on the top of your game when it comes to the latest learnings; but what courses are available?
Therapy Licence

Do Therapists Need A Licence?

It's a question we're often asked, and the answer is not always straightforward. Take a look at our guide on therapy licensing rules.
Professional Liability Insurance

What Is Professional Indemnity Insurance?

This benefit will ensure that your professional actions are protected from severe financial consequences if you were to be sued.